Fairtale Romance

He says he believes in soul mates,

But he knows I am not this. 

And I cried when I asked him

To leave and find his. 

But I meant it. 
He told me I was being ridiculous. 

He calls me the love of his life. 

But those ideals don’t coincide. 

 And maybe I should be grateful,

For this brutal honesty,

But it tastes like settling. 

And I see myself through his eyes

Looking more like a pit 

He’s trapped in,

Than a partner to last with. 

He sees my temper 

As a separate entity 

Better off not a part of me.

Maybe if it was gone…

Leave a Reply

